CURRENT PROJECTS:

Kalan Nafa: Develop learning. Learning to develop. (since 2021)

In the "Kalan Nafa" project, we offer out-of-school learning support for young people with a refugee or immigrant background who have little or no formal educational experience.

Our work is designed to help participants between the ages of 18 and 27 connect to the complex and performance-oriented educational system in Germany and to prevent them from dropping out of school or vocational training. We focus on language-sensitive and individual support - the participants can communicate with each other and with us in their languages of origin.

The focus is on teaching the basic skills of reading, writing, arithmetic and problem solving, as well as on the targeted development of individual learning strategies. The participants' digital skills are also trained. Because we are convinced that learning should also be fun, we often organize our lessons in a playful way and regularly offer excursions.

We are supported and accompanied in this project by the Mercator Institute for Language Development and German as a Second Language, which is using our work to develop teaching principles and recommendations for action for this target group, which has received little attention in research to date.

House of Resources Cologne: Sharing resources, strengthening commitment (since 2021)

The House of Resources Cologne supports associations, initiatives, projects and volunteers who are committed to an open society and are active in the areas of empowerment, diversity and anti-racism work.

The idea behind this project is to bundle existing resources and make them available to others: In addition to knowledge, skills, information and forces, these are also technical equipment, premises and financial resources. Furthermore, we offer the opportunity for networking and cooperation.

Behind the House of Resources Cologne are, in addition to Jama Nyeta, three other Cologne associations that jointly support and shape the project: Migrafrica e.V., Coach e.V. and Integrationshaus e.V. In doing so, we are part of a nationwide program funded by the Federal Ministry of the Interior, for Construction and Home Affairs.

Within the House of Resources Cologne, Jama Nyeta e.V. is the contact for West African communities, arranges co-working spaces and focuses on digitalization, sports and multilingualism. For all matters concerning the HoR Cologne, we can be reached at the e-mail address houseofresources-koeln@jamanyeta.org.

Durchstarten in Ausbildung und Arbeit: Support for young people with tolerated status (since 2020)

The initiative "Durchstarten in Ausbildung und Arbeit" (Starting out in training and work) offers a program for the labor market integration of young refugees with toleration or residence permit.

Language, education and work are an important key to participation in society and successful integration. However, many young refugees do not have legal residence status due to a toleration order and therefore have no or only limited access to support and integration courses.

Thanks to the initiative, these people can now participate in offers for integration into training and work, which opens up new opportunities and valuable perspectives for them. Within the framework of this project, our association is active in the field of job coaching, advising and activating young people, mostly from African countries.

KOMM-AN NRW: Encounter and exchange for refugees (since 2020).

In the "KOMM-AN" project, "arrival meeting points" for refugees are to be initiated and existing meeting points expanded and established. These meeting spaces are intended to promote exchange and help with orientation in Germany.

The project also includes cooking evenings or joint sports activities, and accompaniment to appointments with authorities or doctors. For our volunteers, we conduct further training on legal topics as well as on how to deal with racism, discrimination and psychosocial stress factors.

We would like to thank the Ministry of Integration of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Municipal Integration Center Cologne for their support.

Annual network meetings of the "Mali Network" (ongoing)

Once a year, the nationwide "Mali Network" meets at different locations in Germany. The network is an association of about 25 non-governmental organizations working in Mali.

During the meetings, the focus of the project work and the use of donations are explained, the current situation in the country is discussed and mutual support is organized. Apart from presentations and discussions, there is plenty of room for informal exchanges of experience. In addition, a cultural program and special events - such as a charity run - are usually organized.

COMPLETED PROJECTS:

Jeka fo: Education and networking (2021)

The "Jeka fo" project focused on both educational work and supporting young refugees through their targeted networking.

On the one hand, the focus was on communicating social and political norms and on school and professional orientation. Dealing with racism and possible legal action against discrimination were also important topics. On the other hand, the young people, some of whom had come to Germany unaccompanied and as minors, were encouraged to exchange ideas with former refugees: their experiences on the path to successful professional and social integration were a helpful inspiration for the new immigrants.

In addition, networking also took place with social workers, lawyers, youth welfare offices, and other associations and organizations that offered further information or other support as needed.

We are very grateful for the funding of our project by Aktion Mensch through the Migrafrica e.V. association.

Du ka kalan: Digitalisierung von Familien mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte (2020 – 2021)

With "Du ka kalan", we have created a low-threshold offer for digital skills training for families with (predominantly West African) migrant backgrounds in Cologne-Ehrenfeld.

Factors such as residence status, unemployment or a ban on working, or socioeconomic status present particular difficulties for many families with a history of flight or migration: They often have no access to the regular offers of the SGB labor market support, have little experience in dealing with digital media and often do not have their own terminal devices.

To remedy this situation, we designed a low-threshold training program on digital content specifically for this target group: In addition to the handling of hardware, basic knowledge was imparted in the areas of e-mail, Google research, word processing as well as other office applications. Due to the Corona pandemic, the training courses were held online. The knowledge acquired here has enabled numerous families to enable their children to participate in online classes at their respective schools during the lockdown.

We would like to thank the Intercultural Service of the City of Cologne for their kind support

Hakili Falen: Exchange of experience and empowerment (2020 - 2021)

Within the framework of three workshops, "Hakali Falen" offered young people and parents with a migration history space for exchange about racism, discrimination, intolerance and violence.

Many of the participants had already experienced racism and exclusion at school or in training. Based on this, the workshops focused on how to deal with these experiences and on approaches to peaceful understanding and mutual acceptance.

Of particular importance to us was the sustainable empowerment of those affected: Thanks to reflection exercises and supervision, the participants were able to gain valuable insights, recognize possible courses of action and be strengthened in their personalities. Networking with counseling and therapy services as well as the possibilities of taking legal action against discrimination and racism were also central topics in the workshops.

We would like to thank the association Migrafrica e.V. for their cooperation and kind support.

Yereta Folo: Promoting independence - training in digitization (2020 - 2021)

As part of the "Yereta Folo" project, young people with migration or refugee backgrounds were trained in the independent and safe use of computers, the Internet and smartphones.

Whether it's creating e-mail access, registering online with public authorities and other platforms, or practicing using the keyboard, social participation is only possible to a very limited extent these days without digital competence. Within the framework of computer courses lasting several weeks, we were able to offer around 120 people with a history of flight or migration a comprehensive range of learning opportunities in the area of digitization, while specifically addressing their individual needs.

The focus here was on "learning by doing": right from the start, the participants were motivated to independently implement their newly learned skills in practical exercises. In this way, fears were quickly overcome and sustainable successes achieved.

We would like to thank Aktion Mensch and Aktion Neue Nachbarn for their kind support of this project. Aktion Neue Nachbarn für die freundliche Unterstützung dieses Projektes.

Sini Nyesigi: Raising awareness for the environment and sustainability (2020)

The project "Sini Nyesigi" was able to give people with a history of flight and migration an insight into topics of sustainable development in the field of environment, economy and social issues.

The aim of the project was to sensitize the participants to environmental issues and the importance of sustainable development. Global contexts were used to illustrate the causes and effects of climate change and to communicate strategies for a more conscious lifestyle.

A workshop on the production of natural cosmetics as well as excursions to an ecological farm and an apiary were able to consolidate the theoretically imparted knowledge through tangible practice. Since the majority of participants spoke Bambara or French as their first language, we conducted the program in several languages.

Nyeta 2.0: Accompaniment and support (2019)

With Nyeta 2.0, we were able to realize an open and multilingual counseling service for people with a history of flight and migration.

For many refugees, the language barrier in particular represents a major challenge. Especially for people from African countries, there are often hardly any language mediators available - this results in serious communication problems at public offices and in the health system, when looking for housing or in integration measures. A lack of information about language courses or opportunities to participate in society also often stands in the way of successful inclusion.

At Jama Nyeta, we speak the first language of many people seeking advice. Thus, we can offer orientation and clarify many questions. If necessary, we can also accompany them to appointments, provide on-site support and ensure communication.

AKTUELLE PROJEKTE:

Kalan Nafa: Lernen entwickeln. Entwickeln lernen. (seit 2021)

Im Projekt „Kalan Nafa“ bieten wir außerschulische Lernförderung für junge Menschen mit Flucht- oder Zuwanderungsgeschichte, die über keine oder nur wenig formale Bildungserfahrung verfügen.

Unsere Arbeit soll den Teilnehmenden im Alter von 18 bis 27 Jahren den Anschluss an das komplexe und leistungsorientierte Bildungssystem in Deutschland ermöglichen sowie Schul- und Ausbildungsabbrüchen vorgebeugen. Dabei setzen wir auf eine sprachsensible und individuelle Förderung – die Teilnehmenden können untereinander und mit uns auf ihren Herkunftssprachen kommunizieren.

Der Fokus liegt auf einer Vermittlung der Basiskompetenzen Lesen, Schreiben, Rechnen und Problemlösen sowie auf der gezielten Entwicklung eigener Lernstrategien. Auch die digitalen Fähigkeiten der Teilnehmenden werden geschult. Weil wir überzeugt sind, dass Lernen auch Spaß machen sollte, gestalten wir den Unterricht oft spielerisch und bieten regelmäßig Ausflüge an.

Gefördert und begleitet werden wir bei diesem Projekt durch das Mercator-Instituts für Sprachförderung und Deutsch als Zweitsprache, welches anhand unserer Arbeit Unterrichtsprinzipien und Handlungsempfehlungen für diese bisher in der Forschung wenig berücksichtigte Zielgruppe erarbeitet.

House of Resources Köln: Ressourcen teilen, Engagement stärken (seit 2021)

Das House of Resources Köln unterstützt Vereine, Initiativen, Projekte und Ehrenamtliche, die sich für eine offene Gesellschaft einsetzen und in den Bereichen Empowerment, Diversity und Antirassismusarbeit aktiv sind.

Die Idee hinter diesem Projekt ist, vorhandene Ressourcen zu bündeln und anderen zur Verfügung zu stellen: Neben Kenntnissen, Fähigkeiten, Informationen und Kräften sind dies auch technische Geräte, Räumlichkeiten und finanzielle Mittel. Darüber hinaus bieten wir die Möglichkeit für Netzwerke und Kooperationen.

Hinter dem House of Resources Köln stehen neben Jama Nyeta noch drei weitere Kölner Vereine, die das Projekt gemeinsam tragen und gestalten: Migrafrica e.V., Coach e.V. und Integrationshaus e.V. Dabei sind wir Teil eines bundesweiten Programms, das vom Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat gefördert wird.

Jama Nyeta e.V. ist innerhalb des House of Resources Köln Ansprechpartner für die westafrikanischen Communities, vermittelt Co-Working-Spaces und setzt inhaltliche Schwerpunkte in den Bereichen Digitalisierung, Sport und Mehrsprachigkeit. Für alle Belange des HoR Köln sind wir unter der E-Mail-Adresse houseofresources-koeln@jamanyeta.org erreichbar.

Durchstarten in Ausbildung und Arbeit: Unterstützung für junge Menschen mit Duldung (seit 2020)

Die Initiative „Durchstarten in Ausbildung und Arbeit“ bietet ein Programm zur Arbeitsmarktintegration von jungen Geflüchteten mit Duldung oder Aufenthaltsgestattung.

Sprache, (Aus)Bildung und Arbeit sind ein wichtiger Schlüssel für die Teilhabe am gesellschaftlichen Leben und zu einer gelingenden Integration. Viele junge Geflüchtete haben allerdings aufgrund einer Duldung keinen rechtmäßigen Aufenthaltsstatus und somit keinen oder nur eingeschränkten Zugang zu Förderung und Integrationskursen.

Dank der Initiative können diese Menschen nun an Angeboten zur Integration in Ausbildung und Arbeit teilnehmen, was ihnen neue Chancen und wertvolle Perspektiven eröffnet. Unser Verein ist im Rahmen dieses Projekts im Bereich Jobcoaching tätig, dabei beraten und aktivieren wir junge Menschen mehrheitlich aus afrikanischen Ländern.

KOMM-AN NRW: Begegnung und Austausch für Geflüchtete (seit 2020)

Im Projekt „KOMM-AN“ sollen „Ankommenstreffpunkte“ für geflüchtete Menschen initiiert sowie bestehende Treffpunkte ausgebaut und etabliert werden. Diese Räume der Begegnung sollen den Austausch fördern und bei der Orientierung in Deutschland helfen.

Im Rahmen des Projekts finden auch Kochabende oder gemeinsame sportliche Aktivitäten statt, außerdem wird eine Begleitung zu Terminen bei Behörden oder Ärzt*innen angeboten. Für unsere Ehrenamtlichen führen wir Fortbildungen zu rechtlichen Themen sowie zum Umgang mit Rassismus, Diskriminierung und psychosozialen Belastungsfaktoren durch.

Wir bedanken uns für die Unterstützung durch das Integrationsministerium des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und das Kommunalen Integrationszentrum Köln.

Jährliche Netzwerktreffen des „Netzwerk Mali“ (fortlaufend)

Einmal im Jahr trifft sich das bundesweite „Netzwerk Mali“ an jeweils wechselnden Orten in Deutschland. Bei dem Netzwerk handelt es sich um einen Zusammenschluss von etwa 25 Nichtregierungsaktionen, die in Mali tätig sind.

Im Rahmen der Treffen werden Schwerpunkte der Projektarbeit und die Verwendung von Spendengeldern erläutert, die aktuelle Situation im Land erörtert sowie wechselseitige Unterstützung organisiert. Abseits von Referaten und Gesprächsrunden bleibt viel Raum für informellen Erfahrungsaustausch, außerdem wird meist ein kulturelles Rahmenprogramm sowie besondere Aktionen – beispielsweise ein Benefizlauf – organisiert.

ABGESCHLOSSENE PROJEKTE:

Jeka fo: Aufklärung und Netzwerkbildung (2021)

Beim Projekt „Jeka fo“ stand sowohl die Aufklärungsarbeit als auch die Unterstützung von jungen Geflüchteten durch deren gezielte Vernetzung im Fokus.

Zum einen ging es dabei um die Vermittlung sozialer und politischer Normen und um schulische und berufliche Orientierung. Auch der Umgang mit Rassismus und mögliche juristische Handhabe gegen Diskriminierung waren ein wichtiges Thema. Zum anderen wurde ein Austausch der jungen Menschen, die teils unbegleitet und minderjährig nach Deutschland gekommen waren, mit ehemaligen Geflüchteten angeregt: Deren Erfahrungen auf dem Weg in eine gelungene berufliche und soziale Integration waren für die neu Zugewanderten eine hilfreiche Inspiration.

Daneben fand auch eine Vernetzung mit Sozialarbeiter*innen, Anwält*innen, Jugendamt sowie weiteren Vereinen und Organisationen statt, die je nach Bedarf weiterführende Informationen oder anderweitige Unterstützung boten.

Für die Förderung unseres Projektes von Aktion Mensch über den Verein Migrafrica e.V. sind wir sehr dankbar.

Du ka kalan: Digitalisierung von Familien mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte (2020 – 2021)

Mit „Du ka kalan“ haben wir ein niederschwelliges Angebot zur Schulung digitaler Kompetenzen für Familien mit (vorwiegend westafrikanischer) Zuwanderungsgeschichte in Köln-Ehrenfeld geschaffen.

Faktoren wie Aufenthaltsstatus, Arbeitslosigkeit bzw. Arbeitsverbot oder sozioökonomischer Status stellen viele Familien mit Flucht- oder Migrationsgeschichte vor besondere Schwierigkeiten: Oft haben sie keinen Zugang zu den Regelangeboten der Arbeitsmarktförderung des SGB, verfügen nur über wenig Erfahrung im Umgang mit digitalen Medien und haben oft keine eigenen Endgeräte.

Um hier Abhilfe zu leisten, haben wir ein niederschwelliges Schulungsangebot zu digitalen Inhalten speziell für diese Zielgruppe konzipiert: Neben dem Umgang mit Hardware wurde Basiswissen in den Bereichen E-Mail, Google-Recherche, Textverarbeitung sowie anderen Office-Anwendungen vermittelt. Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie wurden die Schulungen online durchgeführt. Das hier erworbene Wissen hat zahlreiche Familien dazu befähigt, ihren Kindern während des Lockdowns eine Teilnahme am Online-Unterricht der jeweiligen Schulen zu ermöglichen.

Wir bedanken uns beim Interkulturellen Dienst der Stadt Köln für die freundliche Unterstützung.

Hakili Falen: Erfahrungsaustausch und Empowerment (2020 – 2021)

Im Rahmen von drei Workshops wurde bei „Hakali Falen“ Jugendlichen und Eltern mit Migrationsgeschichte Raum für Austausch über Rassismus, Diskriminierung, Intoleranz und Gewalt geboten.

Viele der Teilnehmenden haben in Schule oder Ausbildung bereits Rassismus und Ausgrenzung erleben müssen. Davon ausgehend standen der Umgang mit diesen Erfahrungen sowie Ansätze zu friedvoller Verständigung und gegenseitiger Akzeptanz im Fokus der Workshops.

Von besonderer Wichtigkeit war uns dabei das nachhaltige Empowerment der Betroffenen: Die Teilnehmenden konnten dank Reflektionsübungen und Supervision wertvolle Einsichten erlangen, Handlungsmöglichkeiten erkennen und in ihrer Persönlichkeit gestärkt werden. Auch die Vernetzung mit Beratungs- und Therapieangeboten sowie die Möglichkeiten, juristisch gegen Diskriminierung und Rassismus vorzugehen, waren zentrale Themen in den Workshops.

Wir danken dem Verein Migrafrica e.V. für die Kooperation und freundliche Unterstützung.

Yereta Folo: Selbstständigkeit fördern – Digitalisierung schulen (2020 – 2021)

Im Rahmen des Projektes „Yereta Folo“ wurden junge Menschen mit Migrations- oder Fluchtgeschichte im selbstständigen und sicheren Umgang mit Computer, Internet und Smartphone geschult.

Ob das Erstellen von E-Mail-Zugängen, Online-Registrierungen bei Behörden und anderen Plattformen oder der geübte Umgang mit der Tastatur: Ohne digitale Kompetenz ist soziale Teilhabe heutzutage nur noch sehr eingeschränkt möglich. Im Rahmen mehrwöchiger Computerkurse konnten wir etwa 120 Menschen mit Flucht- oder Migrationsgeschichte ein umfangreiches Lernangebot im Bereich Digitalisierung machen und dabei gezielt auf die individuellen Bedarfe eingehen.

„Learning by doing“ stand hier im Vordergrund: Von Beginn an wurden die Teilnehmenden motiviert, in praktischen Übungen das neu Erlernte selbstständig umzusetzen. So konnten Ängste schnell durchbrochen und nachhaltige Erfolge erzielt werden.

Wir bedanken uns bei Aktion Mensch und Aktion Neue Nachbarn für die freundliche Unterstützung dieses Projektes.

Sini Nyesigi: Sensibilisierung für Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit (2020)

Das Projekt „Sini Nyesigi“ konnte Menschen mit Flucht- und Migrationsgeschichte einen Einblick in Themen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung im Bereich Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Soziales vermitteln.

Ziel des Projekts war es, die Teilnehmenden für Umweltthemen und die Bedeutsamkeit nachhaltiger Entwicklung zu sensibilisieren. Anhand von globalen Zusammenhängen wurden Ursachen und Auswirkungen des Klimawandels verdeutlicht sowie Strategien für einen bewussteren Lebenswandel vermittelt.

Ein Workshop zur Herstellung von Naturkosmetik sowie Exkursionen zu einem ökologischen Bauernhof und einer Imkerei konnten das theoretisch vermittelte Wissen durch erlebbare Praxis verfestigen. Da bei der Mehrzahl der Teilnehmenden Bambara oder Französisch die Erstsprache war, haben wir das Angebot mehrsprachig durchgeführt.

Nyeta 2.0: Begleitung und Unterstützung (2019)

Mit Nyeta 2.0 konnten wir ein offenes und mehrsprachiges Beratungsangebot für Menschen mit Flucht- und Migrationsgeschichte realisieren.

Für viele geflüchtete Menschen stellt insbesondere die Sprachbarriere eine große Herausforderung dar. Vor allem für Menschen aus afrikanischen Ländern stehen oft kaum Sprachmittlungen zur Verfügung – daraus resultieren gewichtige Verständigungsprobleme bei Ämtern und im Gesundheitssystem, bei der Wohnungssuche oder bei Integrationsmaßnahmen. Auch ein Informationsdefizit bezüglich Kursangeboten zum Spracherwerb oder Möglichkeiten der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe steht einer gelingenden Inklusion häufig im Wege.

Bei Jama Nyeta sprechen wir die Erstsprache vieler Ratsuchender. So können wir Orientierung bieten und viele Fragen klären. Bei Bedarf begleiten wir auch zu Terminen, können vor Ort unterstützen und eine Verständigung gewährleisten.